A Play Day

It was a work in
progress, then a festival 
for tulips - almost!

~carliewired

I was up just after 4 AM and drinking coffee by 5. Being short of sleep is not how I planned to start my day.

G and I were off to Armstrong at 7:45 AM. We had plans for a play day with fabric. at the quilt store. We and eight more local ladies made a class of 10. We brought our jelly rolls, yardage, sewing machines and tools. We got a pattern and instruction and off we went on a quilting adventure. 

I'm sorry to say I completely ran out of steam by noon. It was time for my nap and my brain was fried. I limped along until 2:30 while G carried on with her project. My project would come home unfinished - a W.I.P. (work in progress, as we say in the quilt biz)

We packed up my car about 3 PM and started home. As we were leaving the outskirts of Armstrong we saw signs announcing a tulip festival. We had to go find out more. We drove into the agricultural belt following the signs. We stopped at the entrance to the event to have a chat with someone directing traffic. She explained the parking and gave directions where we could be collected by the horse-drawn wagon that took visitors to the tulip fields. We moved into the parking area, but were somewhat dismayed by the admission prices. An adult could purchase a ticket online for $16, but to purchase a ticket at the entrance would cost $25. We balked at the discrepancy and decided to exit the lot. As we were leaving we could see the horses and wagon but there was something of a wait for this service. There were several food trucks set up near the parking. These looked interesting. We noticed that people could pay to pick tulips for themselves. Several were coming back into the parking lot with arms full of beautiful tulips We could not see anything of the tulip fields from the parking lot. 

I was back home before 5 PM. I desperately need some sleep and that's where I'm headed. Everything else can wait.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.