Breakdown

My car has had a breakdown.
A man in fluorescent jacket,
And full of hope, arrived with rope
To tow. I know he'll hack it.

Mechanics at the garage
Will be waiting, tools in hand,
Prepared to mend the clutch for such
Tough things they understand.

My car will soon be mended:
New cable for the clutch.
So now I wait and hope, too late,
The bill won't be too much.

poem © Celia Warren 2013

Broke down on the way home from dancing last night. (Absolutely nothing to do with its intermittent not-wanting-to-start problem.) It's the first time I've needed to call Green Flag since I joined some years ago. So far so good! They towed me home, left the car on our drive, and picked it up this morning to take it to the garage.

Mr PP has kindly gone with the car today, and will drive it home (all being well) before the day is out. Fingers crossed it won't take long to fix. Though it is leaking coolant, too, apparently.

Like me, it's not as young as it was! (But I don't think I'm dribbling, coolant or otherwise, yet.)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.