Point de Vue

By Alsacienne

Goth

I'm playing catch up with my blips so this one is from my trip on thursday to Freiburg in Germany. My hometown is nestled in the corner where France, Germany and Switzerland meet and I'm within 2-hr driving distance from five different countries. Sorta cool, don't you think? :)

Anyhow, caught this school group visiting Freiburg's cathedral. It is the only Gothic church tower in Germany that was completed in the Middle Ages (1330), and miraculously, has lasted until the present, surviving the bombing raids of November 1944, which destroyed all of the houses on the west and north side of the market. The 116-meter tower has 16 bells, the oldest being the "Hosanna" bell from 1258, which weighs 3,290 kilograms.

ps: my purpose for the visit had nothing to do with history or culture, but I thought you'd be more interested in the above facts than in what kinds of clothes I bought ;)

pps: I finally uploaded the pix of the animes from last week's cherry blossoms festival!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.