Life At Dragonfly Cottage

By MaitriLibellule

When God Closes A Door...

When God Closes A Door, Somewhere Else He Opens A Window...

Yesterday I lost the most precious tiny blind pug, my heart, who died during post surgical complications. I have been completely devastated. I will never get over losing my Penny, she was that special, and I have been especially grief-stricken because she was always in my lap with me while I worked. Today my best friend called. We have been in parrot rescue together for more than 15 years and he has to work so much now that his beloved Eleonora cockatoo, Peaches, whom I have always loved, has started plucking. This is a real serious thing for cockatoos who, unlike my Miss Scarlet that I adopted last May, and who will pluck her feathers but leave it at that, cockatoos will begin to mutilate their own flesh and if not stopped might need to be put down. Peaches has been on this downward spiral. Today he called me in tears and asked if I would consider taking her. I said yes, how could I not. And so while I know my Beloved Penny is fluttering around nearby, I can feel her little puggy angel wings, I now have a precious girl who is sweeter than any bird I've ever known and I've known hundreds of parrots in my shelter days. She is already in heaven just being able to be with me. I wept this morning because it was so empty and lonely without Penny in my lap while I work at the computer. I am now sitting here, less than an hour later, with a cockatoo on my shoulder.

Peaches can't replace Penny, no one could, and I will be grieving Penny for a very long time, but today another little girl needing saving and she took up space in an empty lap (Or shoulder) and she isn't plucking, just nuzzling me and saying, "Hey Baby, Hey Peaches!".

I don't know why these things happen in life. I don't need to understand. But a very gentle girl with angel wings of her own sits with me now, and tears run down my cheeks over Penny and Peaches says, "Hey Baby!" and I know she will help me through.

A door closed. A window opened. ?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.