(137) Irony

Got out on the bike for a couple of hours in the evening before the rain appeared. This is a view from Cults Hill in Fife, looking towards the Lomond Hills. There's a nice wee descent from this point and as I flew down the road I disturbed a buzzard that was having dinner by the roadside. The daft bird dropped its meal and flew right into my path and was fortunate that I had already started to brake or it would have been decorating my front wheel. I wish I'd had the GoPro with me! A couple of miles further on there is a typical country road that has more than its share of potholes, mud, loose gravel etc. As it's on a downhill and there was a tailwind I was easily travelling at 25mph and taking up position in the centre of the road when a large van appeared from behind and sat beside me for a few seconds before pulling away then slowing to negotiate the two 90 degree corners just ahead. At the end of the road, about 100 metres away, the van stopped and driver got out. I was ready for some aggro but the driver wasn't aggressive or confrontational but did want to know 'how much road I needed.' We had a fairly civilised discussion about sharing the road but I realised that he thought I was taking the centre line just to annoy him! He also completely failed to grasp that, despite his 'concern for my safety' the only thing that was jeopardising my safety was his driving and decision to overtake me where he did! I really don't understand the mentality of some people. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.