I don't tend to get emotionally attached to inanimate objects but I've always known it would be a difficult transition when I decided to change from Blanche, my camper van to a more standard vehicle. I've been thinking about this for a couple of years now and had decided I'd keep her for another year. On my stay in Snowdonia I realised that the interior of Blanche with her low cupboards and confined space was a bit wearing as I get older. I've had camper vans for 13 years now, since not long after I retired. I've had Blanche for the last 9 of those years so living without a camper is going to take some getting used to.

I decided yesterday to check out the economics. I'd seen the car I'd like at our local VW dealer so went in to see what sort of deal I could do. I expected to be disappointed with the trade-in value because although she looks presentable and is undoubtedly a sought after vehicle, she's taken a few knocks and isn't the sort of vehicle a dealer can appreciate the value of easily.

They surprised me and we managed to do a deal relatively quickly even negotiating an additional discount on the vehicle I'm buying, a 3 year old approved used vehicle. I decided to go for it because if I start prevaricating I won't  do it. It's a bit like ripping off a sticky plaster, it's better if you do it quickly!

Today I've been taking my stuff out of the van, it's amazing how much stuff gets stashed away in all the cubbyholes. It's all stacked up around the hallway and I'll get it stowed tomorrow. My insurance is with a company who only insure motorhomes and caravans so I have to get new insurance, which is easy, transferring my No Claims Bonus seems to be another matter. Changeover is next Thursday.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.