Thank You For the Days ..

By Fyael

New to Us

  50+ years ago, I used to drive past this stately pile on my way to work. I never saw it, there must have been a tall hedge obscuring it from the road. I knew it was Newbattle Abbey College, but we never ventured in.  There were plenty of signs warning you off - there is still one, very dilapidated, I should have taken a picture.

I saw a Blip recently mentioning going for a walk in the grounds, so I suggested to TM that we stop off for a wander on our way to Edinburgh today. It is delightful - with many paths criss-crossing the woods and the river. We will go again. 

The house is now Scotland's only residential college for students without formal qualifications to study for entry to degree courses at University. It was given to the nation in the 1930s by the then Marquis of Lothian. 

His ancestor was a well-known brigand, ennobled in the 17th century to ensure he gave up murder and cattle-thieving and towed the line laid down by King James VI of Scotland when he departed south to become King James I of England. The Lothian Lords exploited the coal fields under their lands to become extremely wealthy - the oligarchs of their day, and they still wield political power. Remember the Tory politician Michael Ancram? He's now the Umpteenth Marquis of Lothian. I suppose his ancestor should get some credit for gifting it to the nation .... probably in lieu of death duties.

I'm now installed here for a couple of days. We had a little walk up the hill to see how the development at Craighouse is coming along. Slowly is the word, I think. But the view is still good. It's the extra, but it won't upload at the moment. You can see our chimneys on the left at the bottom, if I ever manage to persuade it to appear.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.