Quod oculus meus videt

By GrahamColling

Gains Lane, Sunrise

WARNING - Rant about to begin!

I knew it wasn't going to work out as I expected when the footpath sign was broken in two. Having to climb over a heavily padlocked gate confirmed my suspicions and as I walked down the field margin the absence of footmarks (apart from the deer) also suggested an under used path.

Another gate, also padlocked, confronted me as I reached the end of the field. Undeterred I clambered over (hinge side, of course) complete with rucksack and tripod and walked towards the stream in the picture.

OK, where's the bridge? ............ At that moment I took one step too far and sank up over my boot in mud!

I pulled my foot out of the cloying quagmire and took stock. And this is the reason that I took this shot, I just couldn't go any further.

I shall, of course be in touch with the footpaths and byeways officer at the county council next week to ask about this path.

Have a great weekend, blippers.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.