After the Kyna.

By Triciamb

Long form birth certificate

As a family history researcher, I have many copies of birth certificate but my younger sister, Catherine Jean, who died aged three months only had a short form certificate. Despite a quick search I am not sure when they started but I think not long before this baby was born, with the purpose of certifying the registration of birth without any details of the parents. This would overcome the real stigma at that time of always having a document labelling the individual as illegitimate. My father felt it was important to have legitimate children to have short form certificates as well. 
Since then the short form is issued free but with some situations where there is a need to avoid fraud, the long form is demanded.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.