Christopher Castin

Showers this morning, but overall it's mostly been sunny.  There has been  cold wind from the north.

Last early shift of the week in the airport.  I was meeting and boarding flights first thing, and then the rest of the day working with oil and gas flights.  I popped along Madeline's before tea.  I managed to get to the peat hill for a hour this evening.  Walkies with Sammy, and then hopefully a quiet night by the fire. 

Friend and old work colleague, Christopher Halcrow (Cunningsburgh), came by the peat hill this evening.  He also grew up with peats, but not the casting process.  I've been showing him how I do it, maybe I'm not the best teacher, but he soon picked it up.  He's been using machine cut peat, but may be coming to an end, so he wants to learn the traditional method.  Christopher lifting a peat with the tushkar, Hill of Fitch, Tingwall.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.