THE LONGEST INSTRUMENT IN THE BRASS FAMILY

We had a great service at Church this morning and it was good to be able to sing with the Worship Group - thankfully, my neck wasn’t too painful but I had taken plenty of painkillers and made sure I applied heat to it before we went.  The good news is that I got in touch with a friend who is a physiotherapist yesterday and she can see me tomorrow at 1.45 p.m.  I am so grateful and hope that she can sort me out!

I didn’t feel like going out driving after Church as we usually do so looked around after the service for something to use as my Blip for today and spotted this brass instrument, which is played by Alison during the services.  I used to enjoy hearing her playing when we watched on Zoom, but as I told her a couple of weeks ago, it is even better when hearing it “in person”.

Although I sing, I am not that musical and certainly don’t know much about brass instruments, so I had to ask Alison what it was - she told me it was a French Horn and Mr. Google told me that depending on the type of horn you have, the instrument uncoiled measures 12 to 13 feet for a single horn to 22½ feet for a double horn, so this makes the horn the longest instrument in the bass family when uncoiled.  Alison was kind enough to let me photograph her French Horn, which I believe is a double, so here it is in all its glory.

I noticed the maker’s name on the side, so took a photograph of that too and discovered that it was made by Gebrüder Alexander (Brothers Alexander) of Mainz, Germany.  I also found out the following: 

“The company, which is renowned primarily for its horns, was founded in 1782 by Franz Ambros Alexander and is still in business today and claims to be the oldest musical instrument manufacturing company in Germany....

Probably the best-known Alexander horn is that played by Dennis Brain in his near-legendary recordings of the Mozart Horn Concertos with the Philharmonia Orchestra. This instrument was badly damaged in the crash which killed Brain, but was restored by Paxman of London and is now on display, along with an Alex played by Brain's uncle Alfred Brain, in the Royal Academy of Music museum.”

I found a lot more interesting information about horns on the internet, but must have a longer conversation with Alison the next time I see her and find out what it’s like to play one!

I’m not too sure if Desmond Tutu actually said this, but it is true:

“How could you have a soccer team 
     if all were goalkeepers? 
How would it be an orchestra 
     if all were French horns?”
Desmond Tutu

P.S.  Again, I am very grateful, as is the Silly Saturday Gang, for all your kind comments yesterday, which were much appreciated.  I hope after tomorrow, things will get easier.  I dictated this, so no necks were stretched whilst typing!! :-) 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.