Andy's Photo Journal

By andmoff

Efterklang

With the weans at their Granny and Grandads and Dawn at her folks I took off to Glasgow with mate Richard to see Efterklang at The Arches.

First up was what was billed as Swedish singer/songwriter Anna von Hausswolf. I was expecting a girl and a guitar, what I wasn't expecting was a six piece that had obviously listened to a shit load of prog (especially Genesis), Kate Bush and Radiohead. The were very good, and very very loud ( shit those bass pedals can make yer spine rattle). Thoroughly enjoyed them/her and will be looking them up again.

By this time Richard and I had camped out down the very front for Efterklang coming on. I've listened to the albums and they are very complicated, orchestral and very good. I must admit to a bit of concern when Casper Clausen came on looking like a very tall Matt Smith Dr Who but what we got on stage was a bunch of very accomplished musicians that oozed class, cool and charisma. Easily one of the best gigs I've been to in years. The acoustic finale was fabulous.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.