Sebulon

By sebrose

Moroccan palace in France

I awake around Carcasonne, stretch my legs at Narbonne station, and disembark at Perpignan. I have some time to kill before my train to Figueres, so deposit my rucsac at the Hotel Paris Barcelona.

It’s hot. It’s Monday. It’s the end of the Ascension day weekend. All the tourist attractions are shut. I see them all from the outside. I was surprised to find this massive palace, built hundreds of years ago by the king of Morocco - but history is messy.

I buy a litre of Ricard as a souvenir before heading back to the station for my quick trip across the Spanish border. Where, bizarrely, I am met by police officers checking my passport.

A bus into Figueres where I deposit my bag at the bus station. The Dali museum is shut (Monday), so I wander about and then look for a Catalonian restaurant for lunch. I go to El Trull Den Basserba and get a great three course lunch with half a litre of red and a tapas for €14. Which sets me up for the long train ride to Madrid.

Incredibly, I manage to do some work on the train. Not much, but more than none. Then it’s the metro and a couple of rides to San Lorenzo out by the airport.

The hotel is by the ring road. The view from the room is of the ring road. I shut the curtains, grab a quick salad in the restaurant, and go to bed.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.