Jubbly

The BBC is full Royal overdrive, though luckily not 'In our time' which was an interesting programme (half heard) about Shakespeare's sonnets. Forgot to mention my copy of Lorna's poems arrived on Tuesday, thanks for being interviewed for the research.

It was bright, warm and sunny this morning so good for today's task, pruning (hard) the lilac tree. It grows too high, encouraged I think by the overhanging bushes from over the back and it had too many stems and branches. No more, it is shorn and only about 150cms high. It's fairly opened up that corner of the garden but now I have piles of greenery to rid of. The brown bin was already full. It was hard, and hot, work though.

I watched the flypast at lunchtime, joined by #1 son watching it on Sky 15k kms and 7 hours away.

I sat in the garden and sewed in the afternoon, joined as ever by Willow but it was very overcast and threatening.

Then it was time to go feed the fat, furry one. On the way back I got a better view of the new student accommodation, and cranes. I also 2, yes 2, lots of bunting. One on flats opposite the Reid Memorial, and the other outside a local nursery. I also caught a glimpse of Lady Marchmont (no relation) sweeping her path as I drove by. 

Finally Coffee Club aperitivo at K's (recently returned from Italy). V pleasant catch up and too much food. 

I did think of lighting a wee beacon in the back garden, had a wee rose instead with the gifted soft amaretti.

Later heard today had all been too much for HM and she won't be in the Cathedral tomorrow. This is weird, celebrating when we know the next event will be a funeral, for which they are already rehearsing.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.