Orchids

The grey and cold weather kept me inside most of the day. I had a request by someone who wanted a particular song for his wedding on Sunday, if I could put the song into sheet music because the church-musician demanded that. So I did. It took a couple of hours but the groom was very happy. 

In the afternoon the sun came out and the wind died a little so I could finally get outside to have a walk on Alvaret, the plain here on Öland. I wanted to see if I still could find some orchids, many of them have had their peak already. I did find quite a lot and also masses of tiny flowers that I had to use my plant-app to find out what they were, there are flowers everywhere, now is the time to explore. 

The main is an orchid called "Krutbrännare", in English that would be  something like 'powderburner', Neotinea ustulata in latin, since it looks like the tool the gunmen had to fire the cannons with in the 16 hundreds. The extra is also an orchid: "St.Pers nycklar", 'Keys of St Peter', Orchis mascula in latin.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.