Sally Mair - Loving life

By Sallymair

The clue is in the colour!

Today on church we celebrated not only Pentecost, the birthday of the church, but also the Queen's diamond jubilee. This is one of the arrangements, brought across to the hall for the lunch afterwards. We have some very creative people in our congregation, the church was full of flowers and looked beautiful. With services in church several days in the week the flowers will be enjoyed many times. .
The first Pentecost was the time when the Holy Spirit descended on the disciples and others in Jerusalem. People heard them speaking in many different languages so that all could understand them. We touched on that today and had people saying the Lord's Prayer in different languages. Latin, English, Welsh, French, Russian and Afrikaans. I also read it in Tamil which my friend had written out for me phonetically. It was very effective.
After church it was over to the hall for a celebratory lunch. Our American visitors joined us for lunch. Delicious food and a very happy occasion with a commemorative cake too!
We left quite sharply as other friends were coming from St Andrews and Katy and the girls were dropping in too then staying for tea after the others left. We braved the cool east wind and managed to stay out in the garden for the afternoon.
My new Kindle also arrived, from Amazon. They had given me a 50% discount so as I use my Kindle such a lot, I decided to splurge and bought an Oasis. It's a very different shape so I hope I adapt to it OK! All started well though so fingers crossed!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.