pocketfullononsense

By dunkyc

Suits

I thought I had planned it all out so well. A rearranged visit to St Albans for an afternoon meeting followed by an overnight stay in Birmingham for an early morning meeting the following day.

Unfortunately the meeting on Tuesday cancelled, meaning that I was left with a simple round trip to St Albans as I didn’t want to cancel that appointment again. As a result, there’s not much to report from today, other than I spent around 8 hours driving and listening to The Missing Crypto Queen podcast on the beeb. 

It felt quite odd on arrival, having been cooped up in the car for a few hours to leave it and then enjoy a wander in the fresh air around my client’s vast, open and numerous hectares. The meeting went well and although quite short, was worth the trip down. Video calls are great, but they are a poor substitute for a real world meeting. 

One thing I did notice when I pulled in for a comfort break at the services was the total absence of suits. I always wear one for client visits and normally you see many others at the services, but today there were none to be found and indeed, I felt like I stood out like a sore thumb. Humanity aside, am I one of a dying breed? Are the suit’s days numbered?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.