Life through my eyes

By Amanda_T

Nice surprises and angels in disguises!

I had been looking forward to having my stitches removed today as they and the dressing have be VERY itchy!  It was also my first break (not including the surgery and funeral) in over three weeks and so welcome even if it was just to the health centre and back.

On the way back I was photographing these flowers and a young lad (see extra) passed on his scooter and then came back as asked me if that was my job, I said no but it would be nice.  He said the flowers were pretty and then asked if I would take his photo.  He was absolutely delighted and asked to see it on the screen, and loved it so much he took a photo of the screen for his Snapchat.  As he went on his way I told him he was a very polite young man (I think it's important to reinforce positive recognition to youngsters) and he responded that I was a beautiful lady (I was glad he didn't say old) and went on his way.  Isn't it funny how a chance encounter can have an impact.  After all the events of last week, some of which you know about, I have been finding it hard.  The painting in the extra I did this morning just as a way of offloading some feelings.  It was just one of those things that changed my mood, grounded me back in the present and made me feel grateful.  I wished I could have asked for his number to send him the original and let his parents know.  I was only really photographing the flowers to look them up!  Apple photos tells me they are Serbian Bellflowers .

One more surprise on the doormat at home was a Thank You badge from the NHS for Volunteers Week, which was a lovely surprise too.

This afternoon was a lovely calming meditation on loving kindness.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.