Traycloth

On a blip journal I follow there was recent chat about traycloths. What a lovely idea a traycloth is. It got me thinking about table linen. My late aunt always used proper linen napkins, starched to perfection. I have disposed of a number of damask tablecloths and napkins from the homes of older family members. We always had 'proper' napkins, and napkin rings,  at home but when the time came they were all past it.  I don't think I've disposed of a traycloth but certainly doilies.

In the blip is one corner of a traycloth embroidered by  seven year old me. I was at primary school in Aberdeen and some poor teacher had the job of instructing me in the art of embroidery (while the boys did woodwork). It wasn't my forte, that much is pretty obvious, but I did stitch the edges and the four corners - two teddy bears and two bunches of flowers.

I'm working today at my casual job. My prediction is that it will be either a very short or a protracted day. As today is forecast to be better as far as the weather is concerned I'm rather hoping for the former.  I just have to wait and see.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.