Rusty Circles

The last time I looked at the thermometer it said 97F (36C). That was probably also the last time I moved. When the mercury gets that high one sort of loses the will to do anything....

I woke up at 6:30 this morning when John, noticing camped outside the door to the guest room (where I have been sleeping because of his coughing and snoring) and let him in. He knocked my kindle off the nightstand which scared Spike, but going back to sleep was then but a dream, especially when they started moving heavy equipment up the driveway across Los Alamos to a cacophony of beeping. Why this has to be done at 6:30 in the morning is a mystery but seems to be standard practice.

It was still quite cool when I went to physical therapy and I even considered drinking my coffee on the porch, but another beeping truck was delivering a load of plywood next door. I don't mind the background tune of hammers and saws, but I can't seem to tune out the infernal beeping.

The helicopters are pretty hard to tune out also, and when it is hot and windy the sound of one circling around the neighborhood and flying low over the house it also is an ominous trigger point for fire. The day was not getting off to a good start as I stood in my closet trying to decide what to wear to Peter's graduation in Santa Barbara on Saturday. In the end I decided nobody was going to be looking at me or care what I was wearing so I just threw some things into a bag.

John seems to be feeling progressively more rotten.... signs of a sinus infection to which he is no stranger. He was taking a nap and I was making dinner when there was a flash and a loud bang like an explosion outside.  We both investigated and found no signs of anything amiss, but it was one more thing in a day which was acquiring a strong overlay of surrealism.

Everything has gone quiet as I write. The workers have all gone home and there is very little traffic anywhere, but it is still too hot to sit outside. Although I have studiously avoided all news about the January 6th insurrection, I feel duty bound at least to hear what they have to say. The pundits say that the American people are tired of hearing about it and want to move on to things like inflation and the rising crime rate, but isn't attacking the capitol and threatening the lawmakers inside a crime?  They will be preaching to the choir as far as we are concerned, but it will, at the very least, be a permanent record of what happened that day and how carefully it was orchestrated by Trump and his allies.

I  wonder what future generations will think when they read about it? Or will they?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.