Catherine Lacey: BoyStory

By catherinelacey

Stick insect

Best large (if you dare!)

Do you remember the image from a year ago of Reuben returning from hospital after his open heart?

What little boys find in the dirt.

* * *

Luckily for me, my office overlooks the garden and seeing the little fella from a distance, I was out in a flash.

Callum was so cool, inquisitively watching it idly stroll down his arm, onto his shirt and then all the way down to his shoes. At that point, I realised he might end up treading on it as it was heading to the ground so I got Callum to fall back so that he wouldn't crush the little fella. Reuben I was sure stood straight on him at that point, but no, off he went, into the undergrowth. Very cool.

Have spent the last two days clearing out my office and mounds of paperwork and stuff. There are two huge trash cans full of the remains and I'm still not finished. That said, I did catch the London Marathon in the background.

So I was delighted to spend the evening across the road with friends for a bbq at the end of this lovely warm and sunny weekend.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.