East Coasting

By OzBeachcomber

Darter

We took the boat out today and had what I can only describe as a magical afternoon on the river - the weather was perfect, the water was calm, lots of bird life around and an amazing sunset to finish it off and I actually drove the boat part of the way!! A first - not bad seeing we have had the boat for about 6 or 7 years!!!! I took hundreds of photos - so many to choose from for a change (I wish I could spread them over a few days but will put some in my blipfolio). This gorgeous bird was really amazing - at every click of the camera he moved his amazing snake like neck in another direction The Darter's dance and it was an amazing thing to watch.
I also took some shots of a couple of Sooty Oystercatchers (only found in Australasia and on the Rare list in Qld and Threatened list in NSW), Sooty OystercatchersI love these little guys but we don't see them very often anymore.
There were a lot of Cormorants out and about too, mainly on the Middle Wall but some on the banks of the river as well.
sCormorant
As we were heading home we stopped for a while and enjoyed this lovely sunset as well. Beautiful sunset taken from the boat on the river

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.