Englishman in Bandung

By Vodkaman

The Excavator 3

A disappointing morning of steady rain. It was really looking like a blip today was not going to happen. Finally, into the afternoon, the rain stopped and the sun popped its head out of the clouds, so I decided to make an effort.

I headed up to the stream, but the chances of a bug blip were low. Perhaps a frog or a fly were possible but I was seeing nothing, other than the excavator working one of the upper paddy fields ahead.

I decided to sneak up on him and grab some candid shots of him working. They would have been repeat shots, but better than a blank screen. However, he spotted me and smartened himself up by tucking his shirt in, he is such a poser and loves the camera. Just a pity I couldn't shoot the toothy grin when I showed him the image.

Previous excavator blips; 27-12-2012 and 9-1-2013.

I had a strange email this morning, asking if I would do a voice over on a video. Why not I thought, if nothing else it would be an experience.

Adhi and his driver picked me up after 3pm and we headed off towards the city center. The recording studio was booked, but with the horrendous Bandung traffic, it was obvious to me that we were not going to make it.

Adhi gave me the script in the car and did some test recordings on his phone to send on to his boss. They wanted a deep, whispery, gravelly voice. I did the best I could, but it really was beyond my vocal range. The boss called back and said that they were happy with the sound and so we will be having another try tomorrow.

It was amazing what a strain it was on my throat, I feel like I have been to a football match. Looking forward to the experience though - fun.

Dave

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.