She Sings!

I attended my friend Heather's recital for her Master of Music degree. I had never heard her sing more than a few words, and that only once or twice. Hers was a splendid performance of different kinds of songs: one involved her voice becoming an instrument without using words (I don't recall the proper term for it), and another was actually a poem by Lois Aragon sung very, very fast. She sang in five different languages during the recital, with samples of music from four centuries.

I was well dazzled! The quality of her voice and delivery is as you'd find in the opera house of any great city of the world. Before this I only knew Heather as a labor activist, cat lover, and friend. I cat-sit for her & her partner's five fuzzy rascals when they travel.

After the show 14 of us drove about 30 miles to De Lorenzo's, a legendary pizza restaurant in Central New Jersey, where we enjoyed some of the tastiest pies I can remember eating anywhere. Clam pizza was one amazing selection.

What a delightful evening this was!

Heather Gardner, Soprano, accompanied by Kevin Payne on a theorbo. Songs by Giulio Caccini, 1602/14

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.