Three Wrenches. Leica/Lumix Macro-Elmarit 45mm

Way back in 1978 Cape Town, a high school friend and I used to tinker with our respective Renault cars.  He had the grand 16, and I the little 5.  In order to better accomplish our work, we both visited the local tool store and bought a set each of Gedore socket and combination wrenches.  Gedore is a well-respected German brand, still available.  As you've probably gathered from these pages, I have a lot of old tools which are seeing the light of day for the first time in years, some in decades. That's the background.
Last week, my Editor and I set off on a short vacation to Maine, packing all our stuff in a large, venerable and wheeled TravelPro suitcase with many miles on the clock.  Wouldn't you know it:  As I was rolling the case to the car, one of the wheels started to disintegrate...  Long story short, we made it back home on the remnants.  The next task was to see if it's possible to replace luggage wheels.  Turns out it is.  So, for the princely sum of $10, new wheels of the correct size were delivered within two days.  Such is online shopping.  Then I set about unpicking the wheel housing on the case.  Unzipped the liner to find tiny little nuts on the inside.  Out came the recently-unearthed set of combination wrenches.  7mm was the one.  I should mention that back in 1978, we both bought the entire set, from 6mm right up to 27mm.  Anyone around cars will tell you that 8, 10, 11, 13 and 14mm are the most-often needed.  Don't really need the others; an adjustable wrench will usually do it.  But we were kids in 1978 and this was a big adventure.  So, for the very first time in 44 years, the 7mm wrench was pressed into service.  It took half an hour to pull everything apart, put it back together, and take the suitcase for a test drive.  I can report that the new wheels give a much better ride than the originals ever did.  It's such a silly tale, that I thought I'd pose the three smallest of the set on top of the nice old hammer-tone case for the socket set, showing its patina.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.