Slugs and bugs

I finished what I could on the glasshouse this morning - I'll need to buy four sheets to finish. Will measure up and order tomorrow.

Went down to the Walled Garden this afternoon as I haven't been for some time. I'd forgotten just how midgy it would be as it was OK at home. I was surprised to see that my runner beans, which I planted out weeks ago, had hardly grown at all and had been attacked by slugs, the foliage being peppered with very tiny holes. I'll go back tomorrow and give them a good feed. I was surprised as all the beans had plastic lemonade bottle collars on - but obviously the slugs here are great climbers!  The spuds were coming up, but again I was surprised how slow they've been.

There were several folk working in the garden today, some wisely wearing midge nets, as I think they have an open day on Saturday. 

The Walled Garden is part of the old Glencruitten Estate, and all around are rhododendrons and other shrubs. Just beside the car park is a very large specimen of Crinodendron hookerianum, the Chile Lantern Tree - my extra today.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.