Chilean Jasmine

...apparently, according to my wonderful Picture This app, thanks, Deb! Certainly looks right, but doesn't smell like vanilla - I went out with my torch just now to check - doesn't smell like anything (as I'd thought). It's botanical name is Mandevilla laxa, after Henry Mandeville, who was the British minister in Buenos Aires, and the laxa is Latin for "loose", which it is if not supported. 

I saw it growing well on the fence surrounding the main square in town, so planted it to grow up the fountain that Mike made. Some of it looks a bit ill, so I asked the town gardener about it - he said it's probably too much water, and he'd give me a seedling if it died.

On phone a lot of the day, doing a lot of listening, trying to sort "people problems", but some good chats as well. And some writing done as well.

Gratefuls:
- getting a walk in early, it was actually cool enough to be pleasant
- Mike helping me turn one of our doors into a red blackboard (!); I want somewhere easy to list what I need to do the next day
- Netty messaging to say they're arriving back next week, wonderful!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.