By the Airport

A grey start to the 
day...unstable weather still
persists - where's the sun?

~ carliewired

It really wasn't worth making an effort too early this morning. I'd peered out at the skyline about 4:30 and decided there would be no stunning sunrise or golden morning. I rolled back into my bed and remained there until well past 7. I made my pot of coffee, consumed my 20 ounce cup, then drove off towards the airport. 

I parked at Vantage Point and got on the Rivers Trail that leads west alongside of the airport. This portion of the trail is gravel and mostly open. I found a large wild rose bush that was covered in blooms. The scent of them is sweet and alluring. Surprisingly, there were no bees to be found on it. I looked over at the river noting all the debris that gets caught up in the high water flow. It collects around trees and other obstacles. Large dogs like to romp here and there were many this morning. Few are on a leash here so I must be mindful not to get toppled by the overly friendly dogs. 

When the dog packs had passed by and all was quiet again, I found chipmunks scampering about. I found one munching seeds in the grass. They are so difficult to catch as they move so quickly.  The next one flitted across the rocks and posed beautifully for me. 

I left my last quilted heart for the week on a fence post along the Rivers Trail. 

I'm home for the day working on reorganizing my sewing space and quilting fabric. I will make a start on my quilted hearts for next week. 

We might expect a high of 22 C today with a good chance of showers throughout the day. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.