Wo die Blumen sind

By Rebelblume

A small light in the darkness

My phone camera is upset, the (plastic!) slider is unhinged and now I need to hold the piece physically in place in order to take a picture. I'd lit a lantern in the garden in order to sit and have a cup of tea before retiring, as it had been such an extraordinary day, and I could just about take a picture. This morning I was shocked to read the news, a shooting threat had been made to a school in Leiden (nearby), it was not possible to find out which school, so they'd closed them all. I have a friend with kids there so I was thinking how they would feel about going to school tomorrow. In the evening - I work in a school- we had a pot-luck meal with our team as yet another colleague has to go because of "the economy". It became an unusually openhearted and emotional evening of solidarity and sharing. All of us, who work with children, sitting in a school, choosing heart over head and caring over caution.
So, here's a candle to softly light the darkness and watch over us all. Sleep well and be safe, wherever you are.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.