Gate

Dedicated to 60Plus who often posts blips of gates. I took this one as we passed by today, there aren’t many gates or fences in the country, the big cattle stations were about 50km apart with a fence and grids for the traffic to cross. 

We have now reached a different landscape and are at present at Mataranka famous for natural springs which I will learn more about tomorrow. An old work buddy who is travelling around Australia is camping nearby. We are planning to meet in the morning at the springs. 

It was so hot when we arrived here we felt like driving straight back home. I had to resort to having a swim, something I only do once a decade. That cooled me off and I sat outside in my wet swimmers to dry off. My cossies ( swimmers) are so old they are all falling apart. I bought  them when we were on holidays with the kids who are now in their 40s. I can’t say I keep the fashion business afloat. I don’t have many clothes for this climate so may have to splurge on something cooler. 

We went up to the restaurant for dinner as there was a band expected to play. We both had a Barra Burger ( barramundi is a famous fish species found up this way). It was very nice. The band started playing at dusk (6.15pm here) and is still going at 9pm. There are 4 musicians and they are very versatile and very good. They kept on changing instruments and roles and genres of music. 

The extra contains some shots I took from our outside seat. We were early so I took my current novel to read while waiting. It was lovely sitting under the stars and big trees listening to music and watching the sunset and fire they lit. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.