SuffolkBumble

By SuffolkBumble

Camino Day 9: The Way to prepare Pulpo

Palas de Rei to Ribadiso - JBD = 25.8km

Today was a marvellous misty morning which meant many lovely shots in the morning while the Sun slowly burned it off and away into the atmosphere. The walk for me was leading to lunch from the first step. The night before I had been recommend trying the Pulpo (Ocotpus) from a resturant called Garnacha in a town called Melide from a pilgrim named Pepe. As someone who always trusts a Pepe, I was looking forward to arriving and trying. It did not disappoint.

The gentlemen preparing the dish is in the blip. He gave us a taste as we arrived. I was sold. I ordered a ?14 plate, wanting to make the most of it. It was beautiful. The octopus melted in the mouth, superbly spiced to perfection and giving off a flavour which was so fresh and delicate that I thought I might have kissed Pepe in thanks next time I saw him. Damn it was fine Pulpo, if you are ever in Galacia then go to Melide, go to Garnacha and enjoy. Unless you don't like seafood. Then it would be a bad idea.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.