Not a .....

..... single meteor.

I've had a very busy day at work and then an equally busy evening. Mr P called around to give me a hand getting my old broken washing machine out from my understairs utility room / pantry, ready to be taken away when the new one is delivered tomorrow. Mr P has stripped the cam timer mechanism and a few pressure sensors out of the washer to use in one of his aquaponics set ups, so at least I know some of the machine is being recycled.

I thought I'd have a go at photographing some meteors from the Lyrid meteor shower tonight. It's been fairly cloudy all evening but by the time I'd finished a load of chores around the house and gotten out at 11pm the cloud was breaking up. I spent half an hour with the camera set to take continuous 30 second exposures but didn't catch a single meteor. I didn't help myself by having the narrowish 50mm lense on and going out whist the moon was out lighting up the sky. I may get up before sunrise and have another attempt.

This photo shows the patch of sky that the meteors should be emanating from. The brightest star here is Vega in the Lyra constelation. It hardly seems worth me going to bed as I'll have to be up in 4 hours to try again for the meteors and 6 hours to be up in time for the washing machine delivery. Luckily I have a day off tomorrow so I can catch up on some Zzzzs, so today's blip is .....


..... Not a single meteor.

Larger lack of meteors.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.