Scribbler

By scribbler

HON ARDWARE LOF

I've been thinking about words on signs today.

Across the street from the main Portland post office are the Honeyman Hardware Lofts. I was mailing a package to a friend who used to live there.

I liked the way the trees transformed the loft sign, and pondered what they might be communicating in their leafy way.

AH NO DREAR FLOW ?
A LORN FEW HOARD ?
HARDEN FOOL WAR ?

In China I was enchanted by all the signs until I realized that they probably said things like the bureaucratic Helvetica gobbledygook I saw in the p.o.

IS YOUR PACKAGE SAFE TO MAIL?
STOCK UP TODAY!
CHANGE ONLY AVAILABLE WITH POSTAL TRANSACTION
WINDOW CLOSED (at lunch hour, with long lines waiting for help)

I photographed all the posters in the post office and then chose the lofts because I liked the sky reflecting in the windows and the mystery of the tree-interrupted sign.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.