Golf course

I took a drive the other day around the back of Belair NP, and into the erstwhile golf course.  Long story short - golf course went bankrupt, massive public outcry about the grounds, demolition of club house (further massive outcry), and now regeneration.  The land used to belong to Belair NP but was sold off as a golf course in the 1930's.

I'm not sure what I expected to see - great piles of rubble perhaps; even a post-apocalyptic landscape?

Nope, not of those things.  Just a charming rebuilt creek with wonderful reflections.  And looking across to the golf club, the bunkers have been filled in and it's going to be really lovely.  I doubt I'll live to see it, but we will be blessed by future generations.

Friends of Belair NP have embarked on a massive regeneration project, parts of the area are used by a mountain bike club; it's all looking really lovely.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.