TheOttawacker

By TheOttawacker

Lunch with Jackie Onassis

The pandemic has been responsible for many things, most of which have been pretty appalling. There have also been, for me at least, a number of bad by-products, not least of which has been the rather stark sense of isolation I have had.

Okay, okay, I know - I have a wonderful family and two amazing cats - but I have always been somewhat of a social person and pretending otherwise just hasn't lessened the feeling of, well, not loneliness exactly, but rather exclusion.

Julia is a fine example. A wonderful friend who lives not far away - but someone I haven't seen since our Christmas party in 2019. That is insane. You get caught up in your life and your own routine and things drop off. Shocking - and very avoidable.

So I gratefully accepted her offer of lunch and we went to a new place for me, Caffe Mio on Wellington. Sat out on the terrace for a couple of hours, being fussed over by waitresses and hearing the ins and outs of life as only Julia could relate it. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.