Photogen

By Photogen

Camellia Ruby wedding

A Ruby Wedding is the day when people celebrate 40 years of marriage. This blip has absolutely nothing to do with wedding celebrations but I suppose some enterprising plant breeder gave it this name in anticipation that lots of people would subsequently choose it as a gift for this occasion. It just caught my eye at a garden centre at the very beginning of March, and I pictured twin blooms in my journal on 7th April with a degree of sepia filtration.

This time you are seeing it exactly as it is in all its glory with its layer upon layer of rich ruby petals. I set it on a high position relative to where I was standing, with the sky as background and the sun coming obliquely from the front left and the white house wall acting as a fill-in reflector. This has provided a degree of translucency in the outer petals but allowed detail in the shadow side. I used my Olympus SLR as I required a longer focal lens to isolate this single bloom. It is the only one left now and I'm intrigued to see if any more develop.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.