Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Voila!

So, the focus isn't perfect on this, but it's probably the best shot I've gotten showing the impressive wing display of the blue jays. I was standing out on the deck, freezing my ass off, this morning with the D600, Big Daddy and a monopod - things were moving a little too slow, so I thought I'd put some peanuts out ... and voila! I snapped a bunch of shots on continuous, and this was in the batch - don't you love it when that happens?

I cropped this by about 10% and lightened it very slightly.

Also got a shot of a male cardinal in slurp-mode and another shot of one of the jays dropping his nuts! And also an interesting and humourous sequence of the cowbirds busting a move. All in all, a good 30 minutes.

Hubs is in the final stages of packing and now just waiting for one of his team mates to get here so they can finish loading the trailer. They are taking two race cars down to the track, so will caravan down. I shall stay here and guard the fortress!

Thank you for the hearts, stars and comments on yesterday's ladybug! Isn't it funny that this is one of the only insects that is pretty much universally liked? It is, after all, a carnivorous beetle, which isn't really very glamorous when you think about it. Still, they are hard to resist.

It's cold and gloomy today - a major yuck. Tomorrow looks like the best day of the week with highs projected to be in the 70s ... and of course, I have a meeting for most of the day. Again, yuck.

Happy Tuesday! (And just for fun, look at last year's blip which also features a blue jay...)

xxoo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.