Order of St John service medal

Bit of a random photo, but it's the only one I took today.  I was trying to find Mum's wedding video for her, and came across a few small old boxes - two of them had beautifully pristine lighters in (my paternal grandfather's, I think), and another had this medal in.  Google Lens tells me it's the Order of St John service medal, so I think it must have belonged to my maternal great grandfather, who was stationed at a hospital for servicemen in Paignton in WW1.

Had a brilliant sleep last night - asleep by 11pm and didn't wake up until all the church bells were going off (for some reason) at 7:45am.  I had a lovely lazy start to the day - going back to bed for a while after having breakfast with Mum - but did do a few useful things, too.  Never did find that wedding video, as Mum's cleaner was here and needed to get in the room we were in - but I did bring a load of Mum's old clothes down from upstairs, and we went through and sorted a load out for charity, along with some shoes. 

I also drove over to the pharmacy this afternoon to pick up a prescription for Mum - but otherwise had a pretty restful day.  It was nice not feeling any pressure to do anything.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.