Holly

I'd tell you where I met Holly but that would give away the secret. Holly changes position every week in the Outwoods Sculpture Trail and you've got to try and find her.

Basil and I went to follow the trail this morning while Len played tennis. Overnight rain had even managed to dampen the woodland floor which was very welcome.

27 intriguing sculptures have been installed along the trail in The Outwoods, all by local artists. A similar exercise was attempted in 2019 and was well received, although vandals destroyed two of the willow sculptures. I'm so very glad it's happened again with more installations. They make for a very pleasant and interesting walk.

I took two cameras, one of them infrared. I tell you now, this show is meant for seeing, not photographing. For one thing the dynamic range is extreme and it can be very hard to distinguish the artwork from the foliage. Which is where the infrared camera came in useful. 

You can see the photos here, but I urge you to take a walk in the Outwoods yourselves. There's a lovely café  up in the car park for afterwards refreshment. Basil and I certainly appreciated it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.