Life through my eyes

By Amanda_T

Rant alert!

This morning we were due to have someone coming at 10:00 to "install" a call button alarm system.  We don't need the alarm but you aren't allowed the monthly subscription to the Rapid Response (Falls) Team without it, so it was a means to an end.  

The guy arrived at 09:30, no apologies or check if being early was ok (it wasn't as I was clearing away the commode stuff to make Mr T a drink and food), plus we had catheter blocked by sediment in the night so he wasn't 100%.  So this guy (council employee) says I need to set this up.  So I asked what that was as I had been told it just plugs in.  Well I can do that I told him as this is not convenient.  He then told me I couldn't as the back cover had to be screwed on and it wasn't easy!  I politely told him that I was perfectly capable of doing that, but no, and he wouldn't wear a mask and didn't check if anyone had covid symptoms.  I almost threw him out (patronising b******), but it would probably have just upset Mr T more.

So, as he was early Mr T wasn't ready so we installed it in the kitchen, which apparently didn't work as there wasn't a mobile signal.  So upstairs with it, as I had made a point of making Mr T's drinks and not offering him one!

The test "set-up" call seemed to be fine, but as they say the devil is in the detail as I found out after lunch when I was painting the ceiling and two paramedics came in to the house!  It seems that the first call he "cancelled" he didn't cancel, the landline number had been put down even though I told them it wasn't in use, and as the handler didn't get a response she (correctly) followed the protocol and called 999 to an unresponsive user.  I was mortified when they arrived as they said they had come on a cat 1 with blues and twos.  I was so embarrassed and worse still they had another 20 minutes to complete paperwork.  I did phone up and complain about his attitude, but also that is a terrible thing to have an ambulance we didn't need, and I feel really upset tonight as it could have been life or death for one or two more people, and I know how bad it is waiting for those emergency ambulances.  

What a d******d!  If he'd left it with me it wouldn't have happened and I do so hate being patronised in such a manner.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.