This is the day

By wrencottage

150th celebration

We went to Loughton on the tube today, so that my husband could pop in to the optician to get his glasses tweaked a bit because they were sitting slightly skew whiff, and I went to the copy shop to get the three copies of my friend's family history wiro bound. 

As we walked back to the tube station we passed this glorious display of flowers in the High Street outside St. Mary's Church, Loughton, which is celebrating 150 years since its founding. I had to take the photo from this viewpoint because it was too wide to take it the other way! It reads "Saint Mary's " with "150" in the centre. All right, it didn't have an apostrophe, but that's artistic licence on my part.

Our church will have its 150th anniversary in 2024, so we shall have to start planning. I can still remember our centenary celebrations!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.