fotoflarewithclare

By tookie

Tribute to Folk Hero

Today Folk singer songwriter Richie Havens died at 72 here. He was a legend to me...I have his early album and just loved his guitar style and his "raspy" voice. It was at the Woodstock concert back in 1969 where he probably first got notoriety. I was deeply affected then by his songs and have held him is high respect ever since. Last year when my son was a dj at a community station I had him play a few Richie Havens songs so people would hear and get to know him. A cousin on mine living in rural Vermont found Richie Havens working on some art projects in a backs woods cabin a few years ago and sent me a picture of her with him...so special! Richie we will miss you and your soulful voice. here

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.