Paladian

By Paladian

Plumed moth

There's not a lot I can say about today's blip. It's kind of a miserable day - very drizzly and damp, although still not that cold. There were still a couple of bees around in the back garden, but they wouldn't pose properly. Then I saw this little moth fluttering along - and had to keep a very close eye on it, because once they are settled they are very hard to see.

Fragility

I think this one is a Trichoptilus ceramodes: a moth of the Pterophoridae family that is found in Australia, including New South Wales and South Australia. I don't think I'll hear anyone arguing about that :))

Scientific info from Mr. Wiki as always:

The Pterophoridae or plume moths are a family of Lepidoptera with unusually modified wings. Though they belong to the Apoditrysia like the larger moths and the butterflies, unlike these they are tiny and were formerly included among the assemblage called "Microlepidoptera".

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.