shotlandka's weebig world

By shotlandka

Rainbow demolition

I left work a bit early today, I have a cold and am feeling a bit woolly, so it seemed a sensible time to take a few hours of TOIL. I arrived into Glasgow looking for a lazy blip opportunity, and decided that a seagull on a statue's head was a bit too lazy, but the ongoing demolition would work. There are two major demolitions going on within a few hundred metres of each other in Glasgow city centre (the old Odeon Renfield Street and the Bank of Scotland on Queen Street), so the companies involved have to take measures to reduce the dust or they'll have a lot of unhappy people! So they spray the area they are working with water to stop the dust flying up and getting everywhere, quite clever I have to say, though I doubt it gets all the dust, it certainly helps. It's a rather fun machine with a large fan which blows a stream of water into the air. I rather liked the images I was taking, nicely atmospheric, I was even planning to convert to mono, when two very nice passer-bys stopped and, seeing me taking pictures with my dainty wee SLR said 'go down there, there's a rainbow'. At first I just looked at them blankly, but after they repeated themselves I decided to follow their advice. In a matter of 5 or 10 metres further along the street, the rainbow suddenly appeared over the fan. I love it! And no question but today's shot was staying in colour!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.