Guinea Pig Zero

By gpzero

Invasions

I spent the day walking with a friend at the Heinz Wildlife Refuge. It is a 300 acre fragment of what was around six thousand acres of fantastic marshland as late as the 1950s. I saw parts this time that I've never reached before. It borders on an interstate highway, a railroad corridor, and the city's main airport. One section even has a stand of birch trees at least 80 feet tall. That's nothing to sneeze at in these parts, and I didn't know. 
The place is wonderful and I should go more often. Walked four and a half miles --unusual for me!

The fish is a northern snakefish, which are invading the Eastern US with a vengeance. 
Extras: A family of some sort of teals and a barn swallow. I confess that there were more good surprises today than I was able to keep up with. 

Humans invaded a natural wonderland ages ago and now a fish from Asia is invading the place. Let's hope that the place doesn't become a wasteland any time soon.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.