The light under the Painswick yews

I went to surprise Woodpeckers by picking her up from her morning job and taking her up the valley to Painswick for a short blip outing. Unfortunately she had managed to leave a couple of minutes early to catch a bus, which I saw driving away from the bus stop close to the school entrance. I waited for her in the school grounds until I realised what had happened.

Thinking she might have gone to Painswick anyway, as she had mentioned it earlier in the day, I decided to drive up there. I wandered about the rather deserted back streets and alleys amongst the rather twee Cotswold stone grand houses and small cottages. Under the overhanging grey clouds the light didn't illuminate the colours of the stonework as can sometimes happen. I didn't find Helena either, so I returned to the churchyard, which is famed for the numerous yew trees which have been carefully tended and manicured for centuries.

The only shot I really like is of this child, who popped into the shadowy light in this alley of yews. I shall have to come back with Helena one day and hope to do better then.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.