It's a baldy bald life!

By DrK

Transition

I woke up this morning. Quite a surprise as it had been a tough old day with a relatively fast run in the morning and a savage swim in the evening. I just couldn't sleep as I was twitchy all over. Even a selection of Radio 4 programmes, my alternative to counting sheep, failed in the slumber inducing department. Of course all changed with 30 mins until wakey wakey rise and shine the sun will burn your eyeballs out time. I then felt like an ant on ketamine.

I cycled to work wearing shorts for the first time this year. It wasn't even cold. I was in a smiley mood and was even polite when I requested that a nice gentleman may wish to come off his mobile phone when driving. F**k Off you c**t he screamed in his best London gangster voice. I laughed which seemed to enrage him more.... Fortunately, he was further frustrated by being stuck in a big line of traffic whilst I whizzed off out of the reach of a potential 2 smoking barrels.

My smugness soon disappeared at work. I was starving so I decided to continue my round of toast habit, only to discover that I had left my wallet at home. Inspired by the car driver, I repeated his kind words to myself. Even worse, I had planned to get the train home to save my legs for the evening's training session.

The day got better though. I feel quite inspired by my new boss just now as I'm being mentally challenged for the first time in ages. It's one of these times when the belief that I am an expert in an area is dispelled. It's a good and humbling experience though.....the more I know, the more I know that I don't really know that much.

I don't normally mention specifics of work on blip but I really enjoyed a meeting with Tim, one of our Olympic Talent coaches and my team mate Michael. We're all so passionate about our sport but often share the same frustrations too. It was exciting to find that we all share a similar vision for coaching.....it's gonna be fun to see what we can do about implementing it.

My new triathlon suit came today too. A one piece Lycra suit with electric blue flashes an a bit of yellow trim. Some people in the office looked a bit disturbed. I suspect that they were visualising me in my new mankini. I like it though. Dave, an athlete I work with got his new super fast bike today too. It looks so bling....hopefully it will the the bike that sees him entering the record books as the fastest Ironman ever for his age and it may even see him to the 30 times Ironman champs in lake Garda later in the year.

I rode home with Marshall, who seems to be finding his old 1st Cat race legs again. I used the excuse of me training tonight for me being shelled on every hill. I got my old tri suit on as soon as I got home, then onto the turbo for 10 mins race pace effort followed by a 10 mins run round the village. Typical....I saw Claire, the talented village cellist and wife of the local Tory councillor, Ian from the post office, Ed my next door neighbour and Jo from across the way! Sheesh.....I'm not going out in a Lycra suit again until dark.

After dinner, I prepped my bike for my 1st triathlon of the year in Kendal this weekend. Although I keep telling Rosemary to chill about it as it's a 'C' race for her....I am starting to get more nervous than her.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.