A Day In The Life

By Irish59

HOOT!! HOOT!!

My, Oh, My!! It’s been quite a day. MrsP and I have never ever, ever, seen a live owl, until today • While the coffee was brewing I opened a window for some cool fresh air and fed the cats. All I could hear were ravens, which isn’t unusual, but this time I knew something wasn’t right. Out I went heading towards the raucous up in the trees just off the lawn. I counted six ravens and watched to understand what they were so riled up about. Peering through the trees for a better look, I saw the reason!! A barred owl was not four feet away from them. In sharp contrast to the obnoxious birds, the owl didn’t seem phased or ruffled one bit • I immediately returned to the house to get the camera and hollered to MrsP to come outside, toothbrush and all! By now the birds had scattered but the owl remained on his branch. After a minute or two MrsP asked me which one I was shooting. What??? I was so focused on the one I never noticed the other!! Mine soon flew up to join that one higher up in the same tree. They were now next to each other and one appeared to groom the other. And here they are!! • Give a hoot, Don’t pollute • They remained for several more hours but eventually left (Yes, I kept checking). I’ve since read they mostly hunt at night. And they like mice :) • Was it a first time visit or have they always been here? • Such an exciting day :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.