Heads or Tails?

My first signing on day. Could hardly wait to see who was hanging around the bar next to the Job Centre today. It was busy - probably happy hour - although none of them looked THAT happy.

Afterwards I popped in to visit an friend from my college years (Cider and babycham days!) who lives with a menagerie of dogs, cats, chickens, Duck, rabbit, horses, kids (and a husband buried under all that). Lovely to catch up with her 'good life'....it's so refreshing to speak to someone who knew you when you had a waistline.

This evening a trip to the Theatre was on the cards. No 1 and No 2 were dancing at the Telephone Choir's annual bash, and my old Brass Band were playing too.

The choir reminded me of MANY years singing in our village choir with my 2 sisters (you had to go to choir on a Wednesday 'cos everyone else did!) - when the most modern song we did was 'Save all your kisses for me'!

It was lovely to see the girls dancing - at one point both of my girls had to dance together....so nice to see them playing together and not fighting!

Band were wonderful. I spoke to a few that I remembered from the old days last night, and they are looking for another Horn player. I am VERY tempted. But Mr S won't be pleased as it means another 2 nights out every week. I'll have to toss a coin to decide.

The compere of tonight's show was the Choir's musical director. A very, very funny man who told a lot of Chic Murray jokes. I'll leave you with one of his comments:

After the older girls finished dancing (a Charleston - fishnet stockings and short black frilly dresses) - he said

" there was an elderly gentleman watching the girls dance the Charleston last night. He was getting so carried away his pacemaker opened his garage door!".

(drum roll)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.