Mostly Six Five Oh

By nhc

Westbound

Not a very thrilling blip today, this is a typical view at the Lloyd Center MAX stop. The arrivals panel isn't showing any trains but I bet those security cameras positioned on top of it are working. The only difference today was that I didn't get panhandled, I wasn't asked once for money, very unusual.

I read an interesting piece on the Lens blog of the NY Times about street photography in Paris and a right to privacy law in France that I knew nothing about. Thankfully when I was in Nice last year no one objected to me taking pictures. Privacy and street photography is a balance, we are constantly being filmed and photographed everywhere we go, as the cameras on the platform demonstrate. This article brought to mind my time in San Francisco, for years my daily commute was on the California Street Cable car line, every day as the cable car would rattle along its route it would be filmed and photographed by tourists, either on the sidewalk or on the cable car itself. I often wonder how many thousands of pictures I must have appeared in over the years. :-)

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.